Are homosexuals sinners?

Standard

Do I think homosexuals are sinners? If someone posed this question to me and expected a quick reply, I’d opt not to answer at all, not because I do not have an answer but because I will probably be misunderstood.

Now, Tim Keller is way more experienced in answering questions than I am, and even he seems to struggle a bit to communicate the answer, but on the whole, I think he manages to communicate several facets of the answer with clarity and grace.

I’d like to think that those of my friends who have chosen a gay lifestyle know the high regard I hold them in. It makes me angry when I hear of how they are sometimes treated by people. The Bible does not differentiate between homosexuals and heterosexuals as far as our predicament with sin is concerned. None of us is going to heaven based on our morality or good works. We all need the Saviour.

Not the labor of my hands
Can fulfill Thy law’s demands;
Could my zeal no respite know,
Could my tears forever flow,
All for sin could not atone;
Thou must save, and Thou alone.

Nothing in my hand I bring,
Simply to the cross I cling;
Naked, come to Thee for dress;
Helpless look to Thee for grace;
Foul, I to the fountain fly;
Wash me, Savior, or I die.

[Augustus Toplady]

Leave a Reply

