Let it be said of us

Standard

This is the third song/hymn that cousin Prabhu  taught us from among the songs they sing in his church in Livermore, California.

‘Let it be said of us’  by Steve Fry

Let it be said of us that the Lord was our passion,
That with gladness we bore every cross we were given;
That we fought the good fight, that we finished the course,
Knowing within us the power of the risen Lord

REFRAIN
Let the cross be our glory and the Lord be our song.
By mercy made holy, by the Spirit made strong.
Let the cross be our glory and the Lord be our song
‘Til the likeness of Jesus be through us made known.
Let the cross be our glory and the Lord be our song.

Let it be said of us: we were marked by forgiveness,
We were known by our love and delighted in meekness.
We were ruled by His peace, heeding unity’s call,
Joined as one body that Christ would be seen by all.

This lyric has so many thoughts from the scriptures:

I have fought the good fight, I have finished the race, I have kept the faith.  2 Tim 4:7

Count it all joy, my brothers, when you meet trials of various kinds, Jam 1:2

that I may know him and the power of his resurrection, and may share his sufferings, becoming like him in his death, Phil 3:10

But far be it from me to boast except in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ, by which the world has been crucified to me, and I to the world. Gal 6:14

Indeed, I count everything as loss because of the surpassing worth of knowing Christ Jesus my Lord. For his sake I have suffered the loss of all things and count them as rubbish, in order that I may gain Christ Phil 3:8

For those whom he foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the image of his Son . . . Rom 8:29

Be kind to one another, tenderhearted, forgiving one another, as God in Christ forgave you. Eph 4:32

“A new commandment I give to you, that you love one another: just as I have loved you, you also are to love one another. By this all people will know that you are my disciples, if you have love for one another.”  John 13:34-35

I, Paul, myself entreat you, by the meekness and gentleness of Christ 2 Cor 10:1

And let the peace of Christ rule in your hearts, to which indeed you were called in one body. And be thankful. Col 3:15

“I do not ask for these only, but also for those who will believe in me through their word, that they may all be one, just as you, Father, are in me, and I in you, that they also may be in us, so that the world may believe that you have sent me.” John 17:20,21

One response »

  1. What a beautiful song! It’s so amazing that that song traveled from a reformed church a couple hours’ drive from my house in California, all the way to New Zealand in order for me to hear it back here in California. What a world we live in!

Leave a Reply

