God never moves without purpose or plan

Standard

Another hymn we learned during Cousin Prabhu’s visit.  From beginning to end, the words are meaningful. I think this will stay as a precious hymn in our family.

Rejoice in the Lord by Ron Hamilton

God never moves without purpose or plan.
When trying His servant and molding a man.
Give thanks to the LORD, though your testing seems long.
In darkness, He giveth a song.

O REJOICE IN THE LORD!
He makes no mistake.
He knoweth the end of each path that I take!
For when I am tried and purified,
I shall come forth as gold.

I could not see through the shadows ahead,
So I looked at the cross of my Saviour instead.
I bowed to the will of the Master that day,
Then peace came, and tears fled away!

Now I can see testing comes from above,
God strengthens His children, and purges in love.
My Father knows best, and I trust in His care;
Through purging, more fruit I will bear.

9 responses »

    • Hi David,
      First you see my California cousin (who taught us some good songs during his visit) with my younger daughter Lydia. The two who you see later are my son Tim and my older daughter Prisy.
      🙂

  1. What a great song! Perfect for all we’re dealing with these days.

    Now, totally off the subject, I’m wondering about something. Those are some big books on the coffee table. I’m dying to know the titles.

    • One ESV Study Bible, one MacArthur Study Bible, Great Doctrines of the Bible by Martyn Lloyd Jones, and Morning and Evening by Charles Spurgeon. On the Bible closest to the camera is a sheet containing M’Cheyne’s Bible Reading Scheme for reading the Bible in a year.
      🙂

  2. Ah! I have both those Bibles here in front of me on my desk. I do not have the Lloyd-Jones volume. I think I’ll add that to my wish list. (Have you read his book on John 17, The Assurance of Our Salvation?) Surprisingly, I also don’t have that particular volume by Spurgeon.

    Thanks for sharing. We’re crazy about books.

  3. We do have a copy of Spurgeon’s Morning and Evening after all. Paul pointed it out. And we have the entire collection of Spurgeon’s Sermons. They must have been Paul’s before we got married. There’s a lot I don’t know about all our books!

  4. A very meaningful song………So true. It makes so much of sense to me after all the recent trials…..! Who has composed this song? Thank you for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

